Erewhon

News

Episodes from the series Welcome to Erewhon will be released online from December 2018 to June 2019.

January 22, 2019 at 7pm, an evening takes place at the Jeu de Paume Museum. A presentation is followed by a lecture by philosopher and writer Bruce Bégout and a film concert by composer Méryll Ampe.

May 7, 2019 at 7pm, screening of the sequel to the episodes at the Jeu de Paume Museum followed by "Erewhyna - 3 brutal deaths", a performance by Olivier Bosson.

About

Welcome to Erewhon is a loose adaptation of a philosophical fable published in 1872 by the British writer Samuel Butler. This utopian satire, which is set in the fictitious city of Erewhon, proposes that we consider technological progress and automation as the evolution of the “machine” species, comparable to the evolution of biological species, but much faster. This hypothesis governs the habits and mores of its inhabitants, down to the smallest aspects of their lives.

Like Butler’s narrative, Welcome to Erewhon depicts a city located in a parallel present. Automation has been taken to the extreme. Work as we know it has disappeared. Factories produce everything that is needed for life. Warehousing and handling are outsourced to hangars outside the city, devoid of humans. Farms raise and process plants and animals. Vehicles deliver them. Software optimizes the system. Inhabitants are freed of all chores, and devote themselves to leisurely activities. Robotic otters care for the elderly, purring when instructed by artificial intelligence software. Other robots massage inhabitants, or cook for them. Cats equipped with GPS map out the territory. Robot vacuums awaken to sensuality. Pigs have their brains networked and enlarged.

Humans, animals, and plants are linked by a data center interconnect system that processes mental matter, thus conserving the city’s memory. Algorithms can give voice to the dead. This is how the spirit of Samuel Butler can still circulate through images of the city.

A secret kinship has always connected machines and cats. In Erewhon, the two species have established a strange kind of sympathy. Humans, who have been left out, are content with exchanging images of cats riding robot vacuums.

Erewhon has many eyes, which monitor the different aspects of industrial processes and urban life. Yet there is nothing panoptic about the city. It preserves blind spots, which represent spans of non-existence for its inhabitants.

In Erewhon, advanced age and end-of-life are periods full of gentleness; robots shaped like baby seals care for patients, sparing them any human contact. The robot’s snort is a concentration of all the beings one has ever loved.

Do the inhabitants of Erewhon still raise children? Or do they instead adopt robots that don’t yell or cry, and eventually learn to love? Is time forever frozen at the suckling stage of capitalism? Do its inhabitants live in spas? Are they skilled in inter-species love? Do they come to resemble plants? Is Samuel Butler reincarnated as a sow connected to the city’s brain?

Credits

Written, directed and edited by

Pierre Cassou-Noguès, Stéphane Degoutin et Gwenola Wagon

Production

Lissandra Haulica, Irrévérence films

Original music

Méryll Ampe

Voices

Pauline Belle Marie-Bénédicte Cazeneuve Jean-Luc Vincent

Assistant editor

Cécile Bicler, Alice de Lima

Graphic design and development

Raphaël Bastide and Louise Drulhe

Voice recording

Joaquim Peirera

Sound mixing

Joaquim Peirera

Film rights research

Alban Leveau-Vallier

Acknowledgments

Daphné Bengoa, Olivier Bosson, Cantor Bourdeaux, Frédéric Danos, Doris Erelljisé-Lanzmann, Sydney Levy, Olivier Perriquet

Co-production

Dispositif pour la création multimédia, CNC - Dicréam
Jeu de Paume espace virtuel

With support from

Artec, Agence Nationale de la Recherche
Laboratoire TEAMeD, Université Paris 8

Erewhon

Actualité

Les épisodes de la série Bienvenue à Erewhon sont mis en ligne entre décembre 2018 et juin 2019.

Mardi 22 janvier 2019 à 19h, une soirée de lancement a lieu au musée du Jeu de Paume. Une présentation du projet est suivie d'une conférence du philosophe et écrivain Bruce Bégout et d'un ciné-concert de la compositrice Méryll Ampe.

Mardi 7 mai 2019 à 19h, projection de la suite des épisodes au musée du Jeu de Paume suivie de "Erewhyna - 3 morts brutales", une performance d'Olivier Bosson.

À propos

Bienvenue à Erewhon est la libre adaptation d’une fable philosophique publiée en 1872 par l’écrivain britannique Samuel Butler. Cette satire utopique située dans la ville fictive d’Erewhon, nous propose de considérer le progrès technique et l’automatisation, comme une évolution de l’espèce « machines », comparable à l’évolution des espèces biologiques mais plus rapide. Cette hypothèse détermine les mœurs, les coutumes, tous les aspects de la vie des habitants.

Comme le récit de Butler, Bienvenue à Erewhon dresse le portrait d’une ville située dans un présent parallèle. L’automatisation a été poussée jusqu’à ses limites extrêmes. Le travail tel qu’on le connaît a disparu. Des usines produisent tout ce qui est nécessaire à la vie. Le stockage et la manutention sont externalisés dans les hangars à l’extérieur de la ville, sans humains. Des fermes cultivent et transforment les végétaux et les animaux. Des véhicules les livrent. Des logiciels optimisent le système. Les habitants sont débarrassés des tâches pénibles et s’adonnent à des occupations ludiques. Des robots-loutres prennent soin des personnes âgées et ronronnent selon un logiciel d’intelligence artificielle. D’autres robots massent les habitants ou leur préparent à manger. Des chats équipés de GPS cartographient les territoires. Des aspirateurs automatiques s’éveillent à la sensualité. Des cochons voient leur cerveau mis en réseau et augmenté.

Humains, animaux et plantes sont reliés dans un système de centres de données interconnectés qui traitent toute la matière mentale et où se conserve la mémoire de la ville. Des algorithmes sont susceptibles de redonner voix aux morts. C’est ainsi que l’esprit de Samuel Butler peut encore circuler à travers les images de la ville.

Une parenté secrète liait depuis toujours les machines et les chats. Mais, en Erewhon, les deux espèces sont entrées dans une étrange sympathie. Les humains, laissés de côté dans ce jeu, se contentent d’échanger des images de chats montés sur des aspirateurs automatiques.

Erewhon a des yeux, qui surveillent les différents aspects des processus industriels et de la vie urbaine. Pourtant, la ville n’a rien d’un panoptique. Il s’y ménage des angles morts qui constituent, pour les habitants, des plages d’inexistence.

Le grand âge, la fin de vie, à Erewhon, est une période pleine de douceurs, car un robot en forme de bébé phoque est chargé de veiller sur les patients, les dispensant d’un contact humain. Le robot concentre dans son grognement tous les êtres que l’on a aimés.

Les habitants d’Erewhon élèvent-ils encore leurs enfants ou adoptent-ils des robots qui ne crient, ni ne pleurent et apprennent peu à peu à aimer ? Le temps est-il figé au stade bouche-mamelle du capitalisme, pour l’éternité ? Les habitants vivent-ils dans des spas ? Sont-ils adeptes de l’amour inter-espèces ? Deviennent-ils semblables aux plantes ? Samuel Butler est-il réincarné dans une truie connectée au cerveau de la ville ?

Générique

Écriture, réalisation et montage

Pierre Cassou-Noguès, Stéphane Degoutin et Gwenola Wagon

Production

Lissandra Haulica, Irrévérence films

Musique originale

Méryll Ampe

Voix de Samuel Butler

Jean-Luc Vincent

Voix des Erewhoniens

Pauline Belle, Marie-Bénédicte Cazeneuve

Assistant montage

Cécile Bicler, Alice de Lima

Graphisme et développement

Raphaël Bastide et Louise Drulhe

Enregistrement voix

Joaquim Peirera

Mixage son

Joaquim Peirera

Recherches des droits

Alban Leveau-Vallier

Remerciements

Daphné Bengoa, Olivier Bosson, Cantor Bourdeaux, Frédéric Danos, Doris Erelljisé Lanzmann, Sydney Levy, Olivier Perriquet

Co-production

Dispositif pour la création multimédia, CNC - Dicréam
Jeu de Paume espace virtuel

Avec le soutien de

Artec, Agence Nationale de la Recherche
Laboratoire TEAMeD, Université Paris 8